Dr. Marjorie L. Myers Scholarship Fund

In spring 2018, the Key PTA partnered with local nonprofit Edu-Futuro to create the Dr. Marjorie L. Myers Scholarship Fund to provide scholarships for low-income college-bound students who attended Key or Claremont immersion schools. 

The scholarship is named in honor of Dr. Marjorie L. Myers, who retired in 2018 after serving as Key’s principal for 23 years, overseeing the growth of Arlington’s first dual-immersion Spanish-English public school. During that time, Key’s enrollment grew from under 500 students to over 700 students, and Arlington Public Schools opened a second dual-immersion elementary to meet the increasing demand for bilingual education. In January 2018, Spain’s Ambassador Pedro Morenés bestowed the Officer's Cross of the Order of Isabel la Católica on Dr. Myers for her long and extraordinary contribution to the promotion of the Spanish language in the United States.

The first two scholarships of $2,500 each were awarded in October 2018 to Natalie Arandia Gutierrez and Maryann Dipp-Zabaleta at Edu-Futuro’s Annual Gala, with Congressman Don Beyer and APS School Board Vice Chair Tannia Talento in attendance. On the same night, Edu-Futuro awarded its Community Partner of the Year Award to the Key PTA. 

To donate to the fund, click here: www.edu-futuro.org/donate/#dr_marjorie_l_myers_scholarship_fund

Dr. Marjorie L. Myers, Key Elementary principal from 1995-2018, notes, “Throughout my 23 years as principal of Escuela Key, the PTA has been a strong supporter for our students in so many wonderful ways. The Dr. Marjorie L. Myers Scholarship Fund with Edu-Futuro is a perfect partner to ensure that support continues for students beyond the elementary years. Both current and former PTA members have made this scholarship possible. Their support is a true testament to the dedication of Key School's families to our diverse school community.”  

For more information, please contact Jorge E. Figueredo, Executive Director of Edu-Futuro, at jorge@edu-futuro.org or the Key PTA President at president@keypta.org